top of page

What is Reinforcement Steel (Rebar)?

Reinforcement steel, often referred to as rebar, is a type of steel bar or mesh used in reinforced concrete and masonry structures to strengthen and provide stability. It's designed to handle tensile forces in construction, enhancing the durability and load-bearing capacity of the structures.

Types of reinforcement steel:

1. Mild Steel (MS) Rebars: These are commonly used and have a smooth surface. They're primarily used in smaller projects and where the concrete structure will not be exposed to harsh conditions.

2. High Strength Deformed (HSD) Bar: These have ribs or deformations on the surface to provide better adhesion with the concrete. They are stronger than mild steel and are widely used in large construction projects and structures where high tensile strength is required.

Each type has various grades and specifications, denoted by numbers such as Fe415, Fe500, and so on, indicating the yield strength in megapascals (MPa).

What is TMT?

TMT stands for Thermo-Mechanically Treated. TMT bars are a type of reinforcement steel extensively used in construction due to their superior mechanical properties. The TMT process involves subjecting the steel bars to a combination of thermal and mechanical treatments.

During the thermo-mechanical treatment, the steel bars are first heated in a furnace and then rapidly cooled using water. This process alters the internal structure of the steel, resulting in a combination of tough outer surface and a softer, more ductile core. This dual-phase structure makes TMT bars strong, ductile, and resistant to cracking.

TMT bars are widely used in reinforced concrete construction to provide strength and durability to structures, particularly in earthquake-prone areas due to their ability to absorb and distribute stress.

Reinforcement steel comes in various grades, each denoted by a specific number. These grades represent the yield strength of the steel in megapascals (MPa). Common grades include:

1. Fe415: Yield strength of 415 megapascals.

2. Fe500: Yield strength of 500 megapascals.

3. Fe550: Yield strength of 550 megapascals.

4. Fe600: Yield strength of 600 megapascals.

The prefix "Fe" stands for iron, and the number indicates the minimum yield strength the steel possesses. Higher-grade steel (e.g., Fe600) has a greater yield strength, providing increased structural strength and stability. The choice of grade depends on the specific requirements and load-bearing capacity needed for a construction project.

5 views0 comments


bottom of page